disco-ball-vector-md

Saturday night was the second Bhakti Dance! at YogaLove in Yardley, PA.  I am so glad the Bhakti Dance! idea came into focus at the end of 2013.  Here is the way I’ve been describing it:

Come out on a Saturday night for a little bit of chanting and a whole lot of freeform movement.  Bhakti Dance! is a fun, transformative, alternative social event – Think of the high school dance only with great kirtan, mantra dance music, an uplifting party playlist, and none of the drama.

We started out with about half an hour of chanting.  I felt as though we sang just enough to become present in the room and in the event we were creating together.  Then came the lights and the time to move.  Transforming a yoga studio into a dance club is so satisfying and joyful!  It is a good thing to have happened upon a truly natural expression of the connection I find between music and spirit.  In the past I’ve had trouble creating the right balance in chant/performance spaces to reflect this.  I’ve had trouble saying it in words.  In the midst of dance, there is no need for words.

Val from Rainbows of Healing has been liaison for the event with the YogaLove space and has helped so much with her overall enthusiasm to make cool things happen.  I love the look on her face when she hears the first notes of a back-in-the-day song and dives into the dance.  Julio and Jana drove from NYC to join us, and were a total trip with their in-step dance moves and exuberance.  Jane brought bindis and made everyone extra sparkly. Whenever I felt the urge to redirect the energy, thinking that people weren’t “getting it” or were heading toward boredom, I looked again and noticed they were dancing in their individual moments.  I saw people keeping to themselves a good deal of the time and realized it as an indicator of deepening into the experience.  There was also plenty of interaction – smiling, spontaneous rumba, clapping, random happy shouting.  I’d planned  to resolve the evening with “Shivo Ham,” but singing the Om Shanti together on “Holy River” turned out to be just right instead.

Creating Bhakti Dance! is feeling so amazingly good and it gives me encouragement to keep moving toward the singer/songwriter/rock performance meets chant meets dance party blowout creations I’ve been envisioning for a long time.  My 2013 New Year’s resolution was “more dancing and more glitter.” It may sound silly and playful, and it is those things.  It also turns out to have been more moving an intention than I could have guessed. I’ll keep it around this year.  More song and dance and glitter all around!

A few tunes from Bhakti Dance! 1/18/14:

 

It’s time to see about  taking Bhakti Dance! on the road.  If you’d like to schedule one, get in touch at bookings@robinrenee.com.

RobinRenee.com

